A Wedding Band

Item #3 found in my treasure chest – a wedding band

wedding band

Inside my medium-sized treasure box, there are several smaller boxes. The smallest of these smaller boxes holds the most valuable piece of treasure out of my entire treasure hoard.

I’m not sure how to write how much the content of this little box means to me other than by referring to one of my favorite books: The Hobbit. Thorin Oakenshield treasures the arkenstone above all the riches of Erebor. Well what’s inside this small box is my arkenstone, although I hope it doesn’t make me go all crazy!

Inside the box, is a wedding band. I’m getting married in a few months to the most wonderful woman in the world. You can read about how we met here (link).

Let me tell you a little bit about how I acquired this treasure. If you’ve never been ring shopping, allow me to pass along this bit of advice. The people who try to sell you a ring are going to seem really nice. They’ll ask what your price range is, which wasn’t a lot for me, because heck, I hadn’t even graduated college yet. By the way guys, I strongly suggest you take your lady with you to buy a ring because she’s going to want to like it if she has to wear it for the rest of her life.

So they’ll ask your price range and then they’ll show you and your beloved a ring that falls into that range. She’ll try it on, look in a mirror and talk about it, for less than two minutes, and then take it off. Then the salesperson will show her a second one, which your girlfriend will LOVE. But guess what? That sucker ain’t anywhere close to your price range. It’s a hostile place to go in to! Believe me. Now she won’t try on any other ring that’s even half as beautiful as the expensive one, all thanks to the salesperson, who gets her to try on the expensive one after each new ring she tries. It is a dangerous cycle my friend.

Anyway, I survived the perils of ring shopping and now the wedding band sits in its box, waiting for the day when it will finally find its home on the most beautiful finger of the most beautiful girl in the world. Sorry I’m a romantic!

Why do I keep it in the treasure chest?

Well of course the wedding band has monetary value, so the treasure chest is naturally a good place to keep it. But what we truly treasure, we keep in our hearts, like the promise I’ll make when I place the band on the ring finger of my fiancé. The band is the symbol of that promise and that love, and so I reckon the treasure chest is a bit like my heart.

Leave a Reply

