Are Two Dollar Bills Worth More Than $2?

Item #4 found in my treasure chest – two dollar bill

I can honestly say I have no idea where I got this two dollar bill from. It has been in my possession for a very long time if my memory serves. I remember being told that two dollar bills aren’t very common, and so I shouldn’t spend it.

If you don’t own a two dollar bill you may not be too familiar with what it looks like. Well Thomas Jefferson is on the front of it. Jefferson was always one of my favorite early Americans because he was the primary author of the declaration of independence which is in turn one of the most inspiring and revolutionary documents ever written. Random fact: Jefferson also spoke like six different languages! How awesome is that?

$2

Anyway, a two dollar bill isn’t much different from any other kind of bill, but only one percent of all notes are two dollar bills. So it’s definitely a pretty cool thing to hang on to if you find one.

Why do I keep it in my treasure chest?

Well its rarity makes it somehow more valuable than two dollars. I’m not sure how that works, but at least that’s how I think of it in my head. Is a two dollar bill really worth more than two dollars? I have no idea! But in case it turns up to be, I’ll be keeping mine safe, under lock and key.

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.”

Leave a Reply

