Not Our World

Prompt #5 (642 Things) – You are an astronaut. Describe your perfect day.

This photo is from space.com

This photo is from space.com

I cannot even begin to explain the feeling of utter isolation I feel as an astronaut on this space craft. I don’t feel at all like Captain Kirk really, which is a disappointment. The unknowable expanses of black, dotted by specks of white light extend as far as I can see, in every direction.

I don’t think any amount of time or added comfort could ever make space more welcoming. It is easy to see how creative minds can imagine all sorts of strange planets and alien species having their existence out here, because anything, literally anything can fit in this enormity.

Being in space, I can’t help but believe that this isn’t our world at all. This is God’s world, his universe, and we’re just floating around out here hoping we know where we’re going. I can’t even tell day and night out here. I guess day is the 15 hours I spend awake before tying myself back to my bunk for nine hours of sleep.

On a perfect day, I wake up, float to breakfast, eat dehydrated food, float to an uneventful day of work, float back for dinner and then back to my bunk. But on a really perfect day, I’ll look out into the vast expanse of space, in its awesome reach and beauty and realize how perfectly powerful and sovereign the God who made it all is.

“Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth? Tell Me, if you have understanding. Who determined its measurements? Surely you know! Or who stretched the line upon it? To what were its foundations fastened? Or who laid its cornerstone, when the morning stars sang together, and all the songs of God shouted for joy?” Job 38:4-7

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

