Reflecting On The Chronicles Of Narnia

Item #5 found in my treasure chest – The Chronicles Of Narnia Movie Tickets

I used to save the ticket stub from every movie I went to. That was before they started printing the tickets on receipt paper which is all they do now, because it’s cheaper I suppose. But I really liked the old ticket stubs with the movie theater’s logo watermarked on the back. Of course no one asked me.

In my treasure chest, there are four tickets to The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe which came out most recently as a motion picture in 2008. I don’t think anyone would argue that it was by far the best film production of C.S. Lewis’s classic novel, a book which I’ve always held in my top five.

The acting in this movie wasn’t always great but it’s pretty hard to mess up when a whole lot of your lines come straight from one of the most cherished children’s books of all time. Somehow, the way Lewis wrote the Chronicles of Narnia, as if directly to a child, made it seem all the more honest and sincere. In fact for a while, I was fairly certain a wardrobe in my house would become a portal to Narnia… oh the hope and imagination of children!

Anyway, I’m speaking to you now as someone who has traveled to Narnia countless times through the books, and now the motion pictures, and if you’ve never been there before, I strongly encourage you to take a trip. A look into the world created by C.S. Lewis will certainly provide you with a new perspective on your own life and the way you live it.


“Aslan is a lion- the Lion, the great Lion.”

“Ooh” said Susan. “I’d thought he was a man. Is he-quite safe? I shall feel rather nervous about meeting a lion”…

“Safe?” said Mr Beaver …”Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.”

Leave a Reply

