Certificate of Uniqueness

Item #6 found in my treasure chest – Certificate of Uniqueness

I don’t know how many of you have ever worked for a newspaper before, but if you have you know there is something just unique about newspaper people. Of course everyone is unique in their own way, but newspaper people are sort of, especially unique. That is why I have a certificate of uniqueness in my treasure chest.

For two years I worked at my university’s campus newspaper, The Bells. It was a great experience that taught me a lot more about being in journalism than any amount of classes can. Throughout that time, I was able to work with, and learn from some great people, who I consider friends to this day. And I met my fiancé working for The Bells.

When I first changed my major from international business to journalism, the journalism professor told me I should write for the newspaper. So I started going to meetings and writing stories. I wasn’t getting paid anything but I told myself if I kept at it, I’d be the first pick when a paid position opened up. After one semester a spot opened up and I became an editor. I suppose that type of optimism stayed with me, because the head editors at the paper gave me the Mr. Motivation award my last semester.

Now I hate to see people be down on themselves, being all pessimistic and what not. So I’ve always tried to be an encourager (WordPress says that’s not a word, but I think it is), and uplifting to the people around me. When I started working for The Bells I became known for my “motivational texts” I would send out to everyone on staff. Whether or not they were truly motivational, I’m not sure, but the goal was to lift people up.

And honestly, that’s the only way to live your life. I mean, you can fool yourself and a lot of people by saying you’re a realist and just sarcastic and all that, but at the end of the day, I guarantee you won’t be as happy as the person who hopefully tries to positively influence those around him or her.

Have some hope; be positive and you’ll have a cheery smile and disposition that can make your family, coworkers, friends and maybe even people on the street notice and want to be the same as you. Hope is infectious, and so is uplifting behavior.

A brief set up for the video: During season three of LOST, Hurley finds an old Hippie Van out in the jungle. He is determined to drive it and make it work because he believes people have lost their hope. He believes that driving the van will help his friend Charlie regain some hope. Enjoy this great scene, one of the best from the whole series.

Leave a Reply

