Longsword Fighting

From my first exposure to the Chronicles of Narnia and Lord of the Rings, and all things of that nature, I’ve loved medieval style sword fighting. Show me a movie with sword fighting and battles in it, and I’m there.

You know those movies where parents always tell their kids, “Why don’t you go outside and play?” Yeah well, when I was a kid, I was actually outside. And usually, I had a stick in my hand that was in my mind of course, a broadsword.

Anyway, the point of all of this, is to draw your attention to this special story by the New York Times about the sport of longsword fighting. Yes, it’s actually a thing. This isn’t fencing. This is fighting with longswords! And before you go calling all of these people nerds and what not, I’ll have you know, it is a physically demanding sport. It’s intense, it’s fast-paced and it’s AWESOME.

Here’s the video: Longsword Fighting

So I’d really like to try my hand at this longsword fighting. As many sword fighting movies as I’ve seen, I’d have to be good at it right? And here’s a link to a group that hosts a lot of these tournaments. http://www.fightlongpoint.com/

Leave a Reply

